Safari Day 3

This morning, we woke up early to go chimpanzee trekking!  After about 25 minutes of walking, our tour guide had lead us to the chimps that are not as afraid of humans.  We were able to see two males and one female that was carrying a baby that was thought to be a month and a half old.  For about an hour, we were able to see them go from tree to tree, eat figs, and climb down to the ground, and then back up again.  While watching the chimps, we were able to learn more about the chimps and how the guides are able to lead tourists to see the chimps.  Our guide told us that we were very lucky because the group that had went trekking the previous day had to walk for 6 hours to see the chimps for only 5 minutes.  It was a very neat experience to be able to see chimps in their natural habitat. At first, I was pretty scared. I couldn’t help but wonder, what if we made the chimps mad? Would they try to attack us or scare us off? Would they just run away and our tour be over? Thankfully, we did not have that occurence. The  chimps  didn’t seem to mind that we were in their territory. Once I saw a chimp and realized that we were not threatening them, I could relax.   After trekking we went back for lunch and had time to relax a little bit before heading to see the crate lakes and then the Savannah areas where the lions usually are.  The lakes were STUNNING.  In the moments of looking at the beautiful land, I was mesmerized.  We saw a few crater lakes, some were salt water, and some were fresh water.  Our guide, Jared explained that the animals use the salt lakes to treat their wounds. After our safari drive, we headed back to the resort and went to bed!!

 

Overall, today is a day that I am never going to forget. Not many people have a chance to see the amazing creatures and scenery that I have been able to see today. I am so thankful for cameras and memories so I can not only remember and cherish them, but so I am also able to share with others in hope that they see the same beauty that I have been able to see.

Leave a comment