Last day in Uganda

Today, we got up to eat breakfast with Dr. Brady before sending her off to Kenya, where she will be staying for the next two weeks before coming back to the United States.  After breakfast, I was able to get all my luggage situated in order to fly home tomorrow. When I woke up this morning, it hit me that my time in Uganda is ending. It breaks my heart to have to say goodbye to this amazing country.  Since our hotel had a spa as well, I treated myself to a deep tissue massage and a pedicure.  LET ME TELL YOU- they were the best services EVER. During this relaxing time, I was able to sit back and think of all the memories that I have made while being here. I have tried so many new things, met new life-long friends, experienced a new culture, and so much more. It is hard to believe that five weeks has already come and gone. We were also able to go to the local mall (which is huge) and get last minute gifts and to exchange our money back to USD.  I told myself that there was no need to buy a lot go things. But when did I ever follow that rule? There were so many beautiful crafts that I had to give myself a time limit at the shops or else I would spend too much money. All the things I bought, reminded me of so many different things in Uganda, that’s why I couldn’t turn some of the crafts down. After we got back from shopping, we all relaxed, ate dinner, and then headed off to the airport!  The journey home begins!  I am so sad to say goodbye to Uganda, but I keep telling myself that it’s only a “see you later”.  However, I am very excited to take a long hot shower, sleep in my bed, and snuggle up with Riley and Ivy 🙂

Leave a comment